Board of Directors

  • Yan Tang

    Chairman and Chief Executive Officer
    Mr. Yan Tang is our co-founder, chairman and chief executive officer. Mr. Tang previously served as our executive chairman between November 2020 and October 2022. Mr. Tang served as our director and chief executive officer since our inception in July 2011 to October 2020. Prior to founding our company, from 2003 to 2011, Mr. Tang worked at NetEase, Inc. (NASDAQ: NTES), or NetEase, initially as editor and later editor-in-chief. Mr. Tang was named by Fortune Magazine as one of its “40 Under 40,” a list of the most powerful, influential and important business elites under the age of 40, in October 2014. Mr. Tang received his bachelor of science degree from Chengdu University of Technology in China in 2000.
    Chairman of the Board
    • Li Wang

      Executive Director and President
      Mr. Li Wang has served as our executive director and president since October 2022. Mr. Wang previously served as our director and chief executive officer between November 2020 and October 2022. Mr. Wang served as our chief operating officer from June 2014 to October 2020 and our president since April 2018 to October 2020. Mr. Wang joined the company as a core member of the founding team in 2011. Prior to joining us, Mr. Wang was the managing director of Laoluo English Training School, a start-up education service business from November 2008 to May 2011. He was the general administration staff at NEC China Co., Ltd. from April 2005 to April 2007. Mr. Wang received a bachelor’s degree in management from Beijing University of Aeronautics and Astronautics in China in 2004.
      • Sichuan Zhang

        Director and Chief Operating Officer
        Ms. Sichuan Zhang previously served as our director from April 2012 to November 2017. Ms. Zhang founded PUPUPULA, a children's furniture and design company, in 2017, and served as its Chief Executive Officer until 2022. Ms. Zhang first joined the Company in July 2011 and was responsible for product design, then marketing strategies and executions. Prior to joining our company, from June 2009 to February 2011, she co-founded 4 Degrees Motion Design, an advertising design firm. She was an art director of Modern Media, a Chinese media company, from January 2009 to May 2009, a senior designer of Phoenix New Media Limited (NYSE: FENG) from January 2008 to January 2009, and a web designer of NetEase, Inc. from March 2006 to April 2007. Ms. Zhang received her bachelor's degree in South China Normal University in 2005. Ms. Zhang is the spouse of Mr. Yan Tang, our co-founder, chairman and Chief Executive Officer.
        • Dave Daqing Qi

          Independent Director
          Dr. Dave Daqing Qi has served as our independent director since December 2014. Dr. Qi is a professor of accounting and the former associate dean of the Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business. He began teaching at the Cheung Kong Graduate School of Business in 2002 and was the founding director of the Executive MBA program. Prior to that, Dr. Qi was an associate professor at the School of Accounting of the Chinese University of Hong Kong. Dr. Qi also serves as director of a number of public companies, such as (NASDAQ: SOHU), Jutal Offshore Oil Services Limited (HKEx: 3303), Yunfeng Financial Group Limited (HKEx: 0376), Sinomedia Holding Limited (HKEx: 0623), Boison Finance Group Limited (HKEx: 0888) and Dalian Haidao International Holding Limited (HKEx: 6862). He received his Ph.D. degree in accounting from the Eli Broad Graduate School of management of Michigan State University in 1996, MBA degree from the University of Hawaii at Manoa in 1992 and bachelor of science and bachelor of arts degrees from Fudan University in 1985 and 1987, respectively. 
        • Benson Bing Chung Tam

          Independent Director
          Mr. Benson Bing Chung Tam has served as our independent director since December 2014. Mr. Tam is a chartered accountant. In March 2012, Mr. Tam founded Venturous Group, a global CEO network based in Beijing, and has been serving as its chairman since then. From 2002 to February 2012, Mr. Tam was a partner and head of technology investments at Fidelity Growth Partners Asia (formerly named Fidelity Asia Ventures), where he led a team of five professionals focused on technology investment. Prior to joining Fidelity Growth Partners Asia, Mr. Tam was a partner of Electra Partners Asia from 1998 to 2002, and was the founding director of Hellman & Friedman Asia from 1992 to 1998. Mr. Tam worked in M&A corporate finance at S.G. Warburg from 1989 to 1992. Mr. Tam has been a Chartered Accountant since 1989. Mr. Tam currently also serves as a director of certain privately held companies. Mr. Tam received his master’s degree in computer science from Oxford University in 1986 and his bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from Imperial College of London University in 1984.